Wiggin and Dana Announces 2013 Pro Bono Achievement Award Recipients

April 4, 2014

New Haven - Wiggin and Dana is pleased to announce that Kevin Smith, Evan Kipperman, Dan Goren and Matthew Nettleton were the recipients of the firm's 2013 Pro Bono Achievement Award.

This annual award recognizes Wiggin and Dana attorneys for their outstanding dedication to, and achievement in, pro bono work based on pro bono hours, the nature and quality of the services and demonstrated commitment to the firm's goal of being a generous provider of pro bono legal services. This year's recipients were presented with the award at a firm event held on April 4, 2014. In addition, Wiggin and Dana contributed $250 on behalf of each recipient to the organization of his choice.

Kevin spent over 500 hours on a Section 1983 policy brutality case against the towns of East Hartford and Manchester. Kevin and Chris Clay obtained a settlement for our client against one defendant and were forced to try the case to conclusion against the non-settling defendants. Although we lost at trial, the representation provided invaluable experience to the entire trial team. Kevin selected the American Cancer Society for his organization donation.

Evan worked with Melinda Agsten to represent the Community Farm of Simsbury in connection with its merger into Gifts of Love of Avon. Evan headed up the legal due diligence efforts and negotiations of a merger agreement with Gifts of Love counsel (Dechert) and after nearly a year of work, the merger was consummated in December 2013. Evan selected VCS for his organization donation.

Dan and Matt helped a Connecticut prisoner who the Department of Corrections ("DOC") had medicated involuntarily with a powerful antipsychotic drug without due process of law for more than half a decade. While their motion for injunctive relief, which argued that the DOC policy on involuntary medication of prisoners violated the 14th Amendment, was pending, the State re-wrote its policy on involuntary medication to bring it in line with federal law. Dan and Matt then helped negotiate a generous settlement of the claims regarding past DOC conduct. Dan and Matt's contributions went to Solar Youth.

Prior recipients of the firm's Pro Bono Achievement Award include Penny Seaman, Jim Craven, Aaron Bayer, Anika Singh Lemar (WD 2007-13), Jim Glasser, Tahlia Townsend, Scott Greathead, Chris Clay, Tadhg Dooley, Natalie Elicker (WD 2010-14) and Julie Loughran (WD 2011-14)