Wiggin and Dana Partner Co-Authors New Edition of "Unfair Trade Practices, Business Torts and Antitrust" Treatise

October 31, 2016

Wiggin and Dana's Robert M. Langer, a partner in the firm's Hartford office and co-chair of the firm's Antitrust and Consumer Protection Practice Group, is co-author of the 2016-2017 Edition of "Unfair Trade Practices, Business Torts and Antitrust", Vol. 12 of the Connecticut Practice Series, just released by publisher Thomson Reuters.

The 2016-17 edition highlights significant developments concerning the relationship between CUTPA and the exhaustion of administrative remedies [See § 5.12]; important legislation adopted by the Connecticut General Assembly responding to a recent U.S. Supreme Court decision regarding the circumstances under which members of state occupational licensing boards and commission may be subject to liability under the federal antitrust laws [See § 9.3]; updated list of Connecticut statues that expressly incorporate CUTPA by reference [See App. E]; Expanded, comprehensive, and up-to-date bibliography, including citations to numerous articles relating to CUTPA, similar statutes in other states, and the Federal Trade Commission Act [See App. J]; Comprehensive and up-to-date charts identifying the various methodologies utilized by each state to analyze both unfair and deceptive acts and practices [See App. L and App. M].

The 1700-page volume contains a substantial amount of material not found in the original treatise, including hundreds of additional cases, an expanded bibliography, a chapter specifically dedicated to the Connecticut Antitrust Act, new sections covering statutory theft and conversion, and commercial disparagement and defamation, as well as several appendices unique to the Treatise that address the legal standards of statutes comparable to the Connecticut Unfair Trade Practices Act (CUTPA) in each of the fifty states.

Mr. Langer co-authored the original treatise, "Unfair Trade Practices", in 2003. Co-authors are David L. Belt of the law firm of Hurwitz, Sagarin, Slossberg & Knuff, LLC, and Quinnipiac University School of Law Professor Emeritus, John T. Morgan.

In his practice, Mr. Langer is involved in all aspects of antitrust, consumer protection and trade regulation counseling and litigation, including class actions, representing clients in both federal and state courts, as well as before the Federal Trade Commission, the Antitrust Division of the United States Department of Justice, offices of state attorneys general and state consumer protection agencies throughout the United States.

Before joining Wiggin and Dana in 1994, Mr. Langer was the Assistant Attorney General in charge of the Antitrust and Consumer Protection Department of the Office of the Connecticut Attorney General, where for more than twenty years he litigated numerous antitrust and consumer matters in both federal and state trial and appellate courts. He received his bachelor's degree in 1970 from Franklin & Marshall College, Lancaster, Pennsylvania, and his law degree from the University of Connecticut School of Law in 1973. He served as an adjunct professor teaching constitutional, antitrust and trade regulation law at the University of Connecticut School of Business Administration, MBA Program, from 1979-2013. He now serves as an adjunct professor at the University of Connecticut School of Law teaching a course on state unfair trade practice law. He also lectures and writes regularly on antitrust, consumer protection, and health care topics.

Wiggin and Dana's Antitrust and Consumer Protection Practice Group represents clients before state and federal antitrust enforcement and consumer protection agencies and in federal and state courts throughout the country; provides counseling to clients on a full range of competition, merger and acquisition, and unfair trade practices matters; and regularly advises clients in connection with all aspects of their customer, supplier, and competitor relationships.

Mr. Langer extends his gratitude to Wiggin and Dana's Ana Oman, Doug Apicella, Laura Ann Keller, Ivana Greco, and Lisa Weeden for their assistance in the completion of the 2016-17 edition.